April 8, 2019

Shane McAnally Is 2019’s ACM Songwriter of the Year

It’s official: 2019’s ACM Songwriter of the Year is Shane McAnally. The trophy was handed out on Friday night (April 5), during the ACM Party for a Cause Stories, Songs & Stars event in Las Vegas, Nev.

McAnally’s helped pen a number of country mega-hits in recent years. He’s one of country music’s most well-known and -loved current songwriters — but he last won the ACM Songwriter of the Year trophy in 2014.

McAnally’s been nominated for ACM Songwriter of the Year six times: in 2013, 2014, 2016, 2017, 2018 and 2019. This year, he’s also nominated for Song of the Year as a producer, for his work on Kacey Musgraves’ “Space Cowboy.” McAnally’s other ACM Awards win to date came in the Album of the Year category, for his work as a producer on Musgraves’ debut disc, Same Trailer Different Park.

The 2019 ACM Awards will take place on Sunday, April 7 at the MGM Grand Garden Arena. The show will air live on CBS beginning at 8PM ET.